Susan Solomon, Co-founder and CEO of the New York Stem Cell Foundation

Susan is the Co-Founder and CEO of NYSCF, a non-profit organization established in 2005 to accelerate cures through stem cell research.

A longtime health-care advocate, Ms. Solomon is a founding member and current President of NYAMR (New Yorkers for the Advancement of Medical Research), is on the Executive and Nominating Committee for the Alliance for Regenerative Medicine, is a member of the Board of Directors of the Regional Plan Association of NY, and she has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, New York Chapter. Ms. Solomon was also a member of the Strategic Planning Committee of the Empire State Stem Cell Board and is currently on the Board of Directors for the Centre for Commercialization of Regenerative Medicine. In March 2008, Ms. Solomon received a New York State Women of Excellence Award from the Governor of New York.  In September 2008, she received the Triumph Award from the Brooke Ellison Foundation for her work in establishing NYSCF and in December 2012, she received the Stem Cell Action Leadership Award from the Genetics Policy Institute.

Prior to founding NYSCF, Ms. Solomon, an attorney and entrepreneur, spent much of her career building businesses.  She established and ran Solomon Partners LLC to provide strategic management consulting to corporations, cultural institutions, foundations and non-profit organizations, and  was the founding Chief Executive Officer of  She has served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Lancit Media Productions, an Emmy award-winning children’s television production company, and as the President of Sony Worldwide Networks. Ms. Solomon has also held executive positions at MacAndrews and Forbes Holdings and MMG Patricof and Co., and began her career as an attorney with Debevoise & Plimpton.

She received her BA from New York University and her JD from Rutgers University School of Law. She has three sons and is married to Paul Goldberger, the Pulitzer Prize-winning writer on architecture.